About Your First Visit:
What is required for your initial appointment at Integr8 Health?
We require you prepay for your initial appointment. Once we receive payment, we will schedule you for the next available appointment time that works best for you. We accept credit cards, debit cards, money orders, and cash. You are only required to prepay for your first visit.
What is the process for obtaining a Maine Medical Marijuana certification at Integr8 Health?
Every patient needs to be evaluated by one of our practitioners. An initial visit is about one hour in length. Our doctors will review your condition and determine if you qualify under Maine State Medical Marijuana Law.
• If you do qualify, then you will be provided with one of our Tamper Proof Certificates, allowing you to use marijuana legally in the state of Maine.
• If you do not qualify, then our practitioner will outline a plan for how you may qualify in the future.
In order to qualify for Medical Marijuana Certification in Maine, we will need to review medical records supporting your qualifying condition. Your medical records do not have to be available at the time of your appointment. When you book your appointment we will provide you with medical record releases to obtain your records. During your evaluation we will determine if additional records are needed and we will obtain your medical records from your other provider(s).
How do I know if I qualify for Medical Marijuana in Maine?
Maine Medical Marijuana Law States: In order to qualify for medical marijuana certification in Maine, you must have a diagnosis with one of the following medical conditions:
- Chronic Pain* (Which has not responded to conventional therapy for more than 6 months)
- PTSD** (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder 9/26/13)
- ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease)
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C (active form)
- Seizure Disorders
- Severe Muscle Spasms (Including MS)
- Severe Nausea
- *Chronic Pain – We provide patients with chronic pain plans to follow if they do not medical records outlining a minimum 6 months of failed treatments.**PTSD – Patient who do not have a diagnosis may be evaluated and diagnosed during their initial visit. See below for diagnosis criteria.
May I be diagnosed with PTSD on my first visit?
If you suspect you suffer from PTSD, but have not been diagnosed or treated for this condition, please take the PTSD test below. Our providers are able to diagnose PTSD after performing an interview and medical examination. If we determine that you have PTSD, and that cannabis is an appropriate treatment, we can provide a tamper proof certificate for legal use of cannabis in Maine.
PTSD Self-test – Click Here
The signs and symptoms of PTSD are grouped into three categories, listed below.
1. Re-experiencing symptoms
Flashbacks—reliving the trauma over and over, including physical symptoms like a racing heart or sweating
Recurrence of physical pain associated with the trauma
Re-experiencing symptoms may cause problems in a person’s everyday routine. They can start from the person’s own thoughts and feelings. Words, objects, or situations that are reminders of the event can also trigger re-experiencing.
2. Avoidance symptoms
Staying away from places, events, or objects that are reminders of the experience
Feeling emotionally numb
Feeling strong guilt, depression, or worry
Losing interest in activities that were enjoyable in the past
Having trouble remembering the dangerous event
Things that remind a person of the traumatic event can trigger avoidance symptoms. These symptoms may cause a person to change his or her personal routine. For example, after a bad car accident, a person who usually drives may avoid driving or riding in a car.
3. Hyperarousal symptoms
Being easily startled
Feeling tense or “on edge”
Irritable behavior and angry outbursts
Reckless or self-destructive behavior
Having difficulty sleeping
Hyperarousal symptoms are usually constant, instead of being triggered by things that remind one of the traumatic event. They can make the person feel stressed and angry. These symptoms may make it hard to do daily tasks, such as sleeping, eating, or concentrating.
Do I need a referral to have an appointment at Integr8 Health?
No, you do not need a referral. Contact our office to set up your appointment. 207 482 0188 ext 1
Will insurance cover my appointment and evaluation?
Many plans will reimburse some portion of our fee or apply it to your deductible. At the time of your visit, you may request a superbill to submit to your insurance company. This superbill does not mention Medical Marijuana. Insurance providers classify our medical practice as “out of network”. Mainecare and Medicare do not provide reimbursement for our visits.
Why do I need my medical records?
The State of Maine requires that adequate medical records document your qualifying condition and are reviewed by our doctors. This process assures that your certificate will protect you from any challenge within Maine’s legal system. Once you become a patient, we will provide you with releases and obtain records from your providers.
What if I don’t have the correct medical records for the visit?
Not a problem. During the visit our providers will identify what records we need. We will provide you with a Medical Record Release form to sign and we will send it to the appropriate providers. Your certification will be sent out once our doctors receive and review your medical records.
How do I get my medical records?
Once a patient, Integr8 Health, LLC will provide you with a Medical Record Release form and we will send it to your doctors or health care providers. You do not need to explain why you need your records to your providers.
If your condition is chronic pain, your medical records should document six months or more of failed conventional therapy. If needed, we will provide your doctor with a chronic pain history form which he or she may use to detail the chronic nature of your condition.
If you are a patient and having trouble obtaining your records, then please contact the office and we will assist you. If you are not yet a patient, we will help you obtain your records once you prepay for your fist visit.
Is my medical provider REQUIRED to release my records?
IN 2004, A FEDERAL LAW WAS PASSED THAT REQUIRES ALL PHYSICIANS OR HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS TO PROVIDE PATIENTS WITH A COPY OF MEDICAL RECORDS WITHIN 15 DAYS AFTER A PATIENT MAKES A FORMAL REQUEST.
If your doctor’s office refuses to help you, notify them (in writing and on the phone) that they will be reported to the Maine Medical Board and fined if you do not receive the records as previously requested. The Medical Board takes these problems seriously and will help you obtain your records. Your doctor may ask you to pay a small fee for the copying expense. If you are having trouble obtaining your records, please contact the office and we will assist you through the process.
What if I don’t have medical records because I do not see medical providers?
We will evaluate your condition during the initial visit and provide you with a specific individualized plan. This may involve conservative, conventional and integrative therapies such as physical therapy, manipulation, medicines, supplements, or a consultation with another medical provider. After completing the required conventional evaluation and/or treatment, we will reassess your eligibility for a medical marijuana certification.
About Obtaining Medical Marijuana In Maine:
Certified Patients who have our Tamper Proof Certifications and a Maine State Issued Picture ID have three choices:
1. Grow Your Own Medicine.
There are many advantages and plenty of resources for help growing your own medicine. Many patients eventually transition to the economy and sustainability of growing their own medicine. Furthermore, the cultivation of medicinal plants is a therapeutic activity unto itself. Novice growers may require several months before being able to harvest high quality medicine, and for this reason may start by choosing one of the other two options. If you are in a rental situation, please consult your landlord before growing. Before growing your own medicine, please review the latest Rules Governing The Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program on the DHHS website http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlrs/mmm/index.shtml.
2. Use a Medical Marijuana Dispensary.
A Medical Marijuana Dispensary is a business licensed by the state to produce medical marijuana and provide it to qualified patients. The State of Maine DHHS office may provide you with information about the dispensaries that are open. Dispensaries often have a wide variety of strains to choose from and may provide other related services.
3. Use a Caregiver
A registered Caregiver is an individual licensed to grow medical marijuana and provide it for up to 5 patients. A Caregiver provides patients personalized guidance and support, and often offer competitive pricing. A patient can find a caregiver through an Internet search or by contacting a caregiver trade association such as the Medical Marijuana Caregivers of Maine (MMCM) or Compassionate Caregivers of Maine (CCM). They can help you connect with a local caregiver.
Can I obtain medical marijuana from multiple sources?
A patient can designate a caregiver or dispensary to grow up to 6 flowering plants on his or her behalf. A designation form, which can be found on the DHHS medical marijuana website, must be completed for each relationship with a medical marijuana provider. For example, a patient may choose to grow 3 flowering plants for herself while simultaneously allowing a caregiver to also grow 3 plants on her behalf.
What to Do Now?